Login to NMLS
Skip Navigation Links
State Licensing Requirements
Multistate MSB Licensing Agreement Program
Common Requirements
Annual Renewal
Advance Change Notice
ESB for Licenses
Financial Statements
Professional Standards
Mortgage Call Report
Money Services Businesses Call Report
Surety Bonds
Temporary Authority to Operate
Uniform Authorized Agent Reporting
Resources & Support
Quick Guides - Company
Quick Guides - Individual
Report Samples
NMLS Call Center Information
Account Administration
Policy/Help Documents
NMLS Password
Company/Institution Renewal Status Request
Individual Renewal Status Request
Company/Institution Email Change Request
Company/Institution Password Reset Request
Individual Password Reset Request
Individual Email Change Request
NMLS Expanded Industries

 Multistate MSB Licensing Agreement Program

​​​The purpose of the Multistate Money Services Businesses Licensing Agreement (MMLA) Program is to create a more efficient money service business (MSB) licensing process among state regulators. State regulators recognized the pain points MSB companies were experiencing when seeking licensure in individual states, including different legal requirements, resources and turn times, procedural requirements and interpretations, and satisfying these similar requirements in each state. 

The MMLA Program Consists of Two Phases​

  • Phase One Review of general license application information
  • Phase Two Review of state-specific license application information

How It Works 

  • Step 1: One of the participating Phase One state agencies will perform the Phase One Review and certify to the other state agencies that an applicant has satisfied all Phase One requirements. 
  • Step 2: After an application is submitted to their state agency, each participating state agency will perform the Phase Two Review of their state-specific requirements. 
  • Step 3: ​If the Phase Two Review is successful, a license approval may be granted by each state agency. 

Note:​ The MMLA is for MSB companies ONLY. The term "money services businesses" for the purposes of the MMLA includes any person doing business in one of the following capacities:
1. Money transmitter​
2. Issuer of traveler's checks, money orders, or stored value
3. Seller or redeemer of traveler's checks, money orders, or stored value
4. Currency deal or exchanger.

Review the Phase One Application Checklist​ for more details about what business activities are included in the term MSB for each participating state. ​

Washington Department of Financial Institutions currently serves as the lead state for the MMLA. If you have questions about the MMLA Program, email Devon Phelps (devon.phelps@dfi.wa.gov).  

If you are a prospective multistate applicant interested in the applying through the MMLA Program, submit the MMLA Intake Form to the Washington Department of Financial Institutions to Devon Phelps (devon.phelps@dfi.wa.gov).   

Note: If you are seeking licensure in fewer than five states over the next 12 months, the MMLA Program may not be for you. Instead, access the State Licensing section of the NMLS Resource Center. 



©2022 SRR LLC       Terms of Use  |  Privacy Notice  |  SRR Home